image holder

When e-commerce specialists talk, many people understand only basics – no wonder, after all, you can not know everything. For that reason we have our small, but good lexicon.  We would like to give you 10 terms that you should absolutely know in this business.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

These are the numbers and average values with which a company’s achievements and successes can be measured. The usual KPIs include, for example, visitor numbers, average website calls and visit duration, abort rates on the website, or recurring customers.

Call-to-Action (CTA)

This element is intended to prompt the visitor to carry out a specific action: to buy, to download or to register. The element can be a link or button which the visitor should click.

Universal Ad Package (UAP)

In online marketing, four banner sizes have been established, which are also internationally accepted as standard sizes on websites. This way the planning and booking of online advertising is simplified. The four formats are: rectangle, superbanner, medium rectangle and wide skyscraper.

Conversion

The conversion describes the process by which the visitor of a website can be guided to a concrete action – for example a purchase, a download or the newsletter registration. The conversion describes the process by which the visitor of a website leads to a concrete action For example, a purchase, a download or the newsletter registration. As a result, the so-called conversion rate has established itself as a unit for the success measurement. It is calculated as follows:

Conversion rate = number of transactions : Number of visits * 100

The result is a percentage – the higher the percentage, the more successful it is.

Checkout funnel

The order process at an online shop is often described as a funnel. This should illustrate how some of the customers are lost at every step of the ordering process. The order process includes registration processes on several pages, as well as greatly simplified way of order or set up of a guest account.

Customer journey

This describes the stages a customer goes through when he purchases something online. The Customer Journey includes all points of contact (touchpoints) with the product or the service – also indirect, such as, for example, the insight in evaluation portals, user forums or blogs.

Retargeting

This is a tracking method, in which visitors of a website or a web shop interested in a particular product are marked and subsequently addressed again. The potential lured back customers are thus returned again to the purchasing process.

Targeting

Targeting is the measure of targeting advertisements only to a specific target group. Are there more female or male website visitors? With what device are they increasingly surfing the net? Which browser do they use? These are all relevant factors for targeting. The more precise this is, the higher the probability that the target group will be offered exactly the right products, which are then bought. This way, scattering losses are reduced to a minimum and existing budgets are optimally used.

Pixel

Pixels are used as units of measure for banners. It makes no sense to measure the banners on displays in millimeters or other conventional measurement units due to the different screen resolution.

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Search engine optimization represent all measures taken to improve the positioning of individual web content in search engine results (e.g. Google). Websites are found more easily with the help of the appropriate words.

Still have questions? No problem! We are happy to help.

image holder

Wenn sich E-Commerce-Spezialisten unterhalten, versteht manch Einer nur Bahnhof – kein Wunder, schließlich kann man nicht alles wissen. Dafür gibt es unser kleines, aber feines, Lexikon.  Wir möchten Ihnen 10 Begriffe nennen, die man in diesem Business unbedingt kennen sollte.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

Das sind Zahlen und Durchschnittswerte, mit denen Leistungen und Erfolge eines Unternehmens gemessen werden können. Zu den üblichen KPIs zählen beispielsweise Besucherzahlen, durchschnittliche Webseitenaufrufe und Besuchsdauer, Abbruchquoten auf der Website oder wiederkehrende Kunden.

Call-to-Action (CTA)

Damit ist das Element auf der Website gemeint, das den Besucher dazu veranlasst, eine bestimmte Aktion auszuführen: etwas zu kaufen, herunterzuladen oder sich anzumelden. Das Element kann ein Link oder ein Button sein, auf den der Besucher klicken soll.

Universal Ad Package (UAP)

In der Online‐Vermarktung haben sich vier Banner-Größen durchgesetzt, die auch international als Standardgrößen auf Webseiten gelten. Dadurch sollen Planung und Buchung der Online-Werbung vereinfacht werden. Die vier Formate sind: Rectangle, Superbanner, Medium Rectangle und Wide Skyscraper.

Conversion

Die Conversion beschreibt den Prozess, bei dem sich der Besucher einer Website zu einer konkreten Handlung leiten lässt – beispielsweise ein Kauf, ein Download oder die Newsletter-Anmeldung. Damit verbunden hat sich die sogenannte Conversion Rate als Einheit für die Erfolgsmessung etabliert. Sie wird wie folgt berechnet:
Conversion Rate = Anzahl Transaktionen : Anzahl Visits * 100
Das Ergebnis ist ein Prozentwert – je höher dieser ist, desto erfolgreicher war man.

Checkout Funnel

Der Bestellvorgang bei einem Online-Shop wird oft als eine Art Trichter (engl. funnel) beschrieben. Das soll darstellen, wie ein Teil der Kunden bei jedem Schritt des Bestellvorgangs verloren geht. Zum Bestellvorgang zählen Anmeldeprozesse über mehrere Seiten, genauso wie stark vereinfachte Bestellwege oder die Einrichtung eines Gastkontos.

Customer Journey

Übersetzt bedeutet Customer Journey in etwa die „Reise des Kunden“. Hiermit werden die Phasen beschrieben, die ein Kunde durchläuft, wenn er etwas online erwirbt. Zur Customer Journey zählen alle Berührungspunkte (Touchpoints) mit dem Produkt oder der Dienstleistung – auch indirekte, wie beispielsweise der Blick in Bewertungsportale, Userforen oder Blogs.

Retargeting

Das ist ein Verfolgungsverfahren, bei dem Besucher einer Website bzw. eines Webshops, die sich für ein bestimmtes Produkt interessierten, markiert und anschließend gezielt wieder angesprochen werden. Abgesprungene potenzielle Kunden werden so wieder in den Kaufprozess zurückgeführt.

Targeting

Als Targeting bezeichnet man die Maßnahme, Werbemittel nur auf eine bestimmte Zielgruppe auszurichten. Sind die Webseitenbesucher eher weiblich oder männlich? Mit welchem Endgerät sind sie verstärkt im Netz unterwegs? Welchen Browser nutzen sie? Das sind alles relevante Faktoren für das Targeting. Je präziser dieses ist, desto höher ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass man der Zielgruppe genau die richtigen Produkte anbietet, die dann auch gekauft werden. So werden Streuverluste auf ein Minimum reduziert und vorhandene Budgets optimal eingesetzt.

Pixel

Bildpunkte bzw. Pixel werden als Maßeinheit bei Bannern verwendet. Bei Bildschirmen ergibt es aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Bildschirmauflösung keinen Sinn, die Banner in Millimetern oder anderen konventionellen Maßeinheiten zu messen.

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Unter Suchmaschinenoptimierung versteht man sämtliche Maßnahmen, um die Positionierung einzelner Webinhalte in den Ergebnissen der Suchmaschinen (z. B. Google) zu verbessern. Mit Hilfe entsprechender Schlüsselwörter werden Websites leichter gefunden.

Sie haben noch Fragen? Kein Problem! Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.

image_pdfimage_print